Follow museum_forum on Twitter

European Museum of the Year Award 2014

Museum of Innocence: Turkish Museum is the European Museum of the Year 2014

The 2014 European Museum of the Year Award goes to the Museum of Innocence, Istanbul, Turkey . The European Museum Forum presented three further awards and five special commendations to museums demonstrating excellence and innovation in delivering public quality.

Tallinn, Estonia, 17 May 2014 - The European Museum of the Year Award (EMYA) organised by the European Museum Forum (EMF), has been presented this year for the 37th time, with the 2014 Award Ceremony hosted by the Art Museum of Estonia in Tallinn.

Read about the full results below.

The Best in Heritage 2014- Best formal presentation

Carl Depauw from MAS winning the best formal presentation award in Dubrovnik, The Best in Heritage

The award audience gave for the best formal presentation is an encouragement for making the presentations ever more out-giving and friendly, - exactly what is required in communicating heritage. Museum aan de Stroom, laureate of European Museum Forum's Silletto Prize 2013, presented by the director Carl Depauw, was the one participants voted for as the best in 2014. A recognition of professionalism, by a group of professionals is an important accolade indeed and Best in Heritage is most glad to be able to be a part of this success.

More information

Hear from some of our prize winners from the European Museum of the Year Award 2013 at this year’s 13th Best in Heritage annual meeting from 25 -27 September in Dubrovnik, Croatia.

The winner of the 2013 Silletto Prize, the Museum aan de Stroom in Antwerp, Belgium, the 2013 Kenneth Hudson Award winner the Batalha’s Municipal Community Museum, Portugal and the 2013 Council of Europe Museum Prize winner the Museum of Liverpool, Liverpool, United Kingdom will talk about their work in this renowned gathering of award-winning museums, heritage and conservation projects.

More information here.

Network of European Museum Organisations (NEMO) partners with EMF

The European Museum Forum is happy to announce a new partnership with NEMO, the Network of European Museum Organisations for the next two years. EMF and NEMO share many common goals in the field of heritage and museums. The two organizations intend to develop a long term collaboration and as a first step  both organisations will promote each other’s activities and  look to develop joint projects in future years.

NEMO is an independent network, formed by national museum organizations or similar bodies within the member states of the Council of Europe. Founded in 1992, NEMO’s members speak for over 30.000 museums across Europe. Its mission is to ensure that museums are an integral part of European society by promoting their value to policy makers and by providing museums with information and opportunities for networking and cooperation.