Home EMF Board of Trustees
Board of Trustees PDF Print E-mail

Goranka Horjan, Croatia (Chair)

President, Council for International Cooperation at the Ministry of Culture, Republic of Croatia;
Chairperson of ICOM's International Committee for Regional Museums (ICOM - ICR); From 2013 elected member of ICOM Executive Council;
Member of the European Organisation for Strategic Planning;
2006-2009 - General Director of the Museums of Hrvatsko Zagorje;
2004-2005 - Assistant Minister of Culture of Croatia;
2000-2003 - Director of the Museums Hrvatsko Zagorje;
Awarded the highest national recognition for the work in the field of culture - Orden of Danice lilom Marka Marulica.



Lila de Chaves, Greece

Secretary General, World Federation of Friends of Museums; an ethnologist specialising in historical and ethnic textiles, jewellery and costumes; Vice President of International Committee for Measures to promote Folk Culture of the International Organisation of Folk Art (IOV),a non-governmental UNESCO organisation; President of the Hellenic Federation of Friends of Museums (HFFM);
Vice President, Executive Global Public Relations and Cultural Chair of Euro-American Women's Council (EAWC); President of Heritage & Museums, an NGO under the supervision of the Hellenic Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

DECORATIONS: National Order of Merit 2009; Order of Merit of the Italian Republic 2007; Congressional Award USA,2003.


Mikhail Gnedovsky, Russia

Director, Cultural Policy Institute;
Member of EMF Judging panel since 2001;
Expert in several programmes of the Council of Europe, including the Intercultural Cities and the Cultural Policies and Trends;
1998-2002 - Director of Arts and Culture Programme, Open Society Institute (Soros Foundation) - Russia;
1999-2002 - Member, Arts and Culture Network Programme, Open Society Institute - Budapest;
Member and Chair, Expert Committee, the Krasnoyarsk Museum Biennale (from 1995 to 2009);
Awarded the Golden Cross of Merit (Republic of Poland) in 2005.


Jette Sandahl, Denmark

Director of the Museum of Copenhagen, Denmark;
Director Experience, Te Papa Tongarewa Museum of New Zealand,
Founding Director Museum of World Cultures, Sweden, 2001-2006;
Director Exhibitions and Public Programs, National Museum of Denmark, 1995-2001;
Project Manager and Director, the Women's Museum of Denmark, 1984-1995.

Benedetta Tiana

Benedetta Tiana, United Kingdom

Principal, Museum Consultancy
Founder (2008) and Principal of BT Museum Consultancy, dedicated to museum interpretation, thematic masterplanning, content and audience development.
Member of the Heritage Lottery Fund London Committee10 years of international project work on redeveloped museums in Europe, across a broad range of subject matter
Former Deputy Head of Interpretation at HistoricRoyal Palaces (Tower of London, Hampton Court, Kew Palace, Kensington Palace, Banqueting Hall);
Former Senior Marketing and Development Officer at Event Communications, a leading European museum design studio
Former EMF National Correspondent. Benedetta is Italian, but a Londoner by choice.

Cristina Vannini

Cristina Vannini, Italy

Director and owner, soluzioni museali - ims sas (an Italian based museum consulting company)
Archaeologist by background, field archaeologist for 10 years
Since 2004 -works in museum studies and museum communication in Italy and internationally
Lecturer at Universities and post graduate schools in Milan
On behalf of EMF has coordinated several European Projects (FPVI and Grundtvig programmes)
Member of the board of ICOM Italy from 2009-2012 and coordinator of the Italian commission on museology;
Secretary General of Insula, Unesco Paris (From October 2010 to March 2011)